Latest News

View all

Upcoming Events

close

Museums - About Us

Museum staff 2015.jpg

Staff

The Ketchikan Museums team and photographer Marvin Scott recreate a photo of the Moore’s Plumbing Ladies Bowling Team, a circa 1950 Coon Brothers Studio photo for the 2015 Then and Now exhibit. Donor: Karla Sunderland, KM 2010.2.12.36. Front row: Lacey Simpson. Middle row (left to right): Stacey Williams, Hayley Chambers.  Back row (left to right): Tara Hofmann, Erika Brown, Anita Maxwell, Ann Froeschle

Staff Directory

Building Projects

Learn more about upcoming renovation plans at the  Centennial Building, home of the Tongass Historical Museum !
 

Mission Statement and Core Values

Mission Statement

Ketchikan Museums collect, preserve, interpret and creatively share the history and culture of our region to serve, educate, engage and enrich our community.

Core Values

Discovery:  Ketchikan Museums will offer relevant experiences to explore, educate, and enlighten.

Community Identity:  Ketchikan Museums will safeguard and reflect Ketchikan’s vibrant cultural landscape.

Integrity:  Ketchikan Museums will be credible stewards of the community’s public trust, investment and its most treasured asset, its heritage.

Communication:  Ketchikan Museums will serve as a leader to innovatively inspire and encourage meaningful community-wide interaction, participation, and collaboration.

Museum Advisory Board

The Museum Advisory Board meets at 4:00 p.m. every third Tuesday of odd months at the Tongass Historical Museum.  The public is invited to attend.

2016 members:

Terral Wanzer (Chair)

Michele Zerbetz Scott (Vice-Chair)
Laurie Pool (Secretary)
Sonja Alvarez
Holly Churchill (Totem Heritage Center Advisory Committee)
Chet Hugo
Teri Hoyt (Collections Committee)

David Kiffer (City Council representative)
Chuck Slagle
Alaire Stanton
Karla Sunderland

Museum History

Prior to 1961, the Xi Alpha Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi and Ketchikan resident Ralph Bartholomew independently developed plans for the formation of a local historical society. With the encouragement of City government and Mayor Richard Hardcastle, community meetings were held and, in 1961, the Tongass Historical Society was organized.

The Society members displayed memorabilia in local businesses. In 1962, the City offered the Society display space in the former jail section of City Hall. The 16 1/2' x 22' space housed cases donated by local merchants and was open one evening a week and by appointment. The first employee, Aileen Jones, began record keeping.

In 1966, Ketchikan began planning to commemorate the 1867 Alaska Purchase Centennial. The Tongass Historical Society formally incorporated in this year and helped lobby for community support for an exhibition center. A bond issue for $1.2 million was approved by voters and the Centennial Building opened September 4, 1967. With the new space, donations of objects flowed in steadily, as did visitors. The Society formally requested, and was granted, further City assistance to keep the building properly maintained, open regular hours and with paid museum attendants and a Director. 

After completion of the Centennial celebration in 1968, several exhibits were disassembled and the public library moved in to occupy that vacated space, approximately 60% of the building. The museum staff grew to include a Director, Curator and Secretary.

Concurrently in 1967, the Alaska State Museum surveyed southern Southeast Alaska Native villages for remaining totem poles. In conjunction with the Alaska Native Brotherhood and Sisterhood, and the Ketchikan Museum Director, the State Museum arranged for the remaining poles that could be transported, to be moved to Ketchikan for preservation. The goal was to construct a cultural center using the totem collection as a focal point. 

The totem collection stayed in storage at Sunny Point Cannery for seven years while various Native groups debated responsibility and funding. The City donated land and was awarded an Economic Development Administration grant and built the Totem Heritage Center, which opened in November 1976. An additional curator was hired by the City in 1976 to operate the Center.

The Museum Department has grown from a single museum attendant in a renovated jail cell in the 1960s to two facilities staffed by professional curators and educators. The services have expanded from small, temporary displays to innovative, interpretive exhibits and programs for all ages.