Latest News

Upcoming Events


Museums - Historic Commission

Chapter 2.88 of the Ketchikan Municipal Code established the Ketchikan historic commission which shall be composed of 10 members appointed by the mayor with approval of the city council, and shall serve without compensation. Members of the commission shall, to the extent feasible, include an architect or historical architect, an archaeologist, and a historian. One member shall be a member of the city council or appointee; one shall be a member of the Ketchikan Gateway Borough planning commission or an appointee; one shall be a member of the Tongass Historical Society or an appointee.

Duties of the commission include:

- Review and make recommendations about local projects that might affect properties identified in the local historic preservation plan.

- Review and develop nominations to the National Register of Historic Places for properties within the city of Ketchikan.

- Act in an advisory role to the Tongass Historical Society, the Ketchikan museum department, Ketchikan Gateway Borough planning and zoning commission, and the Alaska Historic Sites Advisory Committee on all matters concerning historical districts and historic, prehistoric and archaeological preservation in the city of Ketchikan.

- Develop a local historic preservation plan to include provision for identification, protection and interpretation of the area’s significant resources. Such plan is to be compatible with the Alaska Historic Preservation Plan, and to produce information compatible with and for the Alaska Heritage Resources Survey.

- The historic preservation commission shall work toward the continuing education of citizens regarding historic preservation and the committee’s history.

- The commission shall support the enforcement of the Alaska Historic Preservation Act.